Unrealistic sexpectations

16-year-olds deemed ‘too old’ for modelling Wed Nov 16 2011 by ninemsn staff

A Sydney model agency is seeking girls as young as 13 because 16 is “too old” for the international modelling scene.

Gear Model Management is launching a Sydney-wide search for new talent next month — and they’re ideally looking for boys and girls aged between 13 and 19.

“I know people may think that 13 is very young, but that’s what the international brands are currently looking for in Europe,” the agency’s head booking agent Naomi Fitzgerald de Grave told the Daily Telegraph.

“Models are too old at 16 now.”

Ms Fitzgerald de Grave said young Australians were harming their international modelling career options by not getting into the industry earlier. “They start later and then build up a reputation here, but they go to Asia or Europe and get shut down.”  The youngest model on the books at Gear Model Management is a 14-year-old.

Plans to recruit models as young as 13 has been described as “exploitative” by social commentator Melinda Tankard Reist, who said “it’s teaching girls from a young age that physical appearance is the only thing that matters”.

This is really shocking, as if sexualising women is not enough, we have to sexualise girls too???

To say 16 year old girls are ‘too old to model’, that only 13 and 14 year old girls are desirable is outrageous.

These girls are still going through puberty, their bodies, sexualities and sense of self are still developing, they have no idea of what it means to be a woman at that age and won’t for many years, yet the modelling industry wishes to dress them in women’s clothes and women’s sexual/sensual postures and expressions and have them strut their stuff on the catwalks in order to sell their clothes, idea’s and creations to women. These young still maturing girls don’t even have the figures (i.e. hips etc) of women.

Victoria’s Secret strict pre-show diet revealed Wed Nov 16 2011 by ninemsn staff

Ladies, listen up! Thanks to Adriana Lima, you now have permission to not feel insecure when watching this year’s Victoria’s Secret fashion parade.

Veteran “Angel” Adriana (who last year donned the show’s annual centrepiece, the “fantasy” diamond bra) has revealed to the UK’s Telegraph just what it takes to get a body like that for the VS show. And that in itself is a rather intense, full-time occupation.

Apart from the extra exercise sessions of jumping rope, boxing, weights and cardio:

She sees a nutritionist, who has measured her body’s muscle mass, fat ratio and levels of water retention. He prescribes protein shakes, vitamins and supplements to keep Lima’s energy levels up during this training period. Lima drinks a gallon of water a day. For nine days before the show, she will drink only protein shakes – “no solids”. The concoctions include powdered egg. Two days before the show, she will abstain from the daily gallon of water, and “just drink normally”. Then, 12 hours before the show, she will stop drinking entirely.

So basically: shakes, water and powder!

And while this all may sound a little extreme, Adriana insists it’s totally worth it. “Actually, the Victoria’s Secret show is the highlight of my life,” she said. ”Becoming an Angel, once I achieved that, it was a dream come true for me.”

As if this information really helps us feel less insecure??? When we are inundated with these images inside and out of our homes??? Again, it’s no wonder the rates of anorexia, bulimia, self-loathing, depression and anxiety are so high in women.

I don’t want to see unrealistic images of women in sexy underwear, I want to simply see it on the racks and try it on and find what suits my body and expresses my sexuality the best and enjoy feeling sensual and sexual myself and enjoy my partner enjoying me within the sanctuary of our relationship. This will disperse insecurity, not knowing how these models starve themselves.

Lily Allen – The fear

I want to be rich and I want lots of money, I don’t care about clever I don’t care about funny. I want lots of clothes and ‘loads’ of diamonds, I heard people die why they are trying to find them

And I’ll take my clothes off and it will be shameless, Coz everyone knows that how you get famous, I’ll look at the sun and I’ll look in the mirror, I’m on the right track yeah I’m onto a winner

I don’t know what’s right and what’s real anymore and I don’t know how I’m meant to feel anymore. And when do you think it will all become clear? Coz I’m being taken over by the fear

Life’s about film stars and less about mothers, It’s all about fast cars and cussing each other. But it doesn’t matter coz I’m packing plastic and that’s what makes my life so — fantastic

And I am a weapon of massive consumption and it’s not my fault it’s how I’m programmed to function. I’ll look at the sun and I’ll look in the mirror, I’m on the right track yeah I’m onto a winner

And I don’t know what’s right and what’s real anymore and I don’t know how I’m meant to feel anymore. And when do you think it will all become clear? Coz I’m being taken over by the fear

Forget about guns and forget ammunition, coz I’m killing them all on my own little mission. Now I’m not a saint but I’m not a sinner, now everything’s cool as long as I’m getting thinner

And I don’t know what’s right and what’s real anymore and I don’t know how I’m meant to feel anymore and when do you think it will all become clear? Coz I’m being taken over by the fear

media scholar and documentarian Jean Kilbourne       http://jeankilbourne.com/          Reality Bites Back

2 thoughts on “Unrealistic sexpectations

  1. Lingerie is supposed to be made for women, made for them to look sexy in their skin, not the other way around. Actually, it is really helpful to know what those models do to look the way they do, because I feel a whole lot better about myself. I want to eat solid foods thank you very much.

    1. Yes, well said, I want solid food too 🙂 And she states (starving herself to) become a VS angel is the highlight of her life, I’m wondering does she know about love, children, charity, healing, creating something in art writing music etc as a legacy, good deeds, acting in the greater good for mother-earth animals and human-kind, the list goes on…. I’m going to go make myself a smoothie with icecream….

Leave a Reply

