Homage to the good men

I have known for many years now that there are truly good, loving, kind, honourable men in this world who treat the women in their lives and all women and girls with the utmost of respect, value and dignity. Prior to this, after some very traumatic experiences in my life at the hands of men, some just plain heartbreaking ones and viewing first hand dishonour and disrespect of other women via their husbands/partners or strangers, I had a few saddening years of dismay that these ‘good men’ simply did not exist.

But then one day, being the total old-fashioned romantic and spiritual woman that I am, I realised that, if I exist as this woman with this heart and these values than it is a certainty that others do as well, and if I exist as this feminist with these standards and hopes than it is a certainty that others do as well. I grasped the concept that though I may not personally know of these ‘others’ yet, that I must trust in my innate knowing from my eternal soul, that they surely walk upon this earth.

For there is not just one lily flower in this world, cherry blossom or frangipani tree, it is indeed fact that there are many lilies adorning vases around the world and cherry blossom tree’s rooted deep across this earth, though they may not stand in the one place together, others most certainly exist.

This has been the hope that has kept my heart – vibrant red with passion and abundant with love – alive in the romantic sense.  And since this realisation, I have heard some stories of ‘truly good men’, finally confirmation in the physical of my innate knowing.

Here is a beautiful post I read the other day relaying another story of this existence of ‘truly good men’ which inspired me to write these words today – The Good Guys

It will surely lift your heart’s as it has mine, and because the poem this blogger shared with her story is so beautiful it deserves to be published again. Many blessings to these ‘truly good men’ of the world.

The Bridge Builder
By Will Allen Dromgoole 1860–1934

An old man going a lone highway,
Came, at the evening cold and gray,
To a chasm vast and deep and wide.
Through which was flowing a sullen tide
The old man crossed in the twilight dim,
The sullen stream had no fear for him;
But he turned when safe on the other side
And built a bridge to span the tide.

“Old man,” said a fellow pilgrim near,
“You are wasting your strength with building here;
Your journey will end with the ending day,
You never again will pass this way;
You’ve crossed the chasm, deep and wide,
Why build this bridge at evening tide?”

The builder lifted his old gray head;
“Good friend, in the path I have come,” he said,
“There followed after me to-day
A youth whose feet must pass this way.
This chasm that has been as naught to me
To that fair-haire­d youth may a pitfall be;
He, too, must cross in the twilight dim;
Good friend, I am building this bridge for him!”

Comments  lilithrose76 #  November 23, 2011

That poem by Dromgoole made me cry… I love these good men you write of though I do not know them… I too am standing where Eve Ensler was when she wrote those words of hers you quoted above. I know there are really ‘good’ men in this world, I know this innately and I know this because I have heard of and read of them and their example, of the bridges they have built and I know the day will soon come where I will call one on them my partner, my lover, my husband. Thank you for this beautiful inspiration, hope and more validation of this knowing I have within. Soon, very very soon I shall be writing these words you now pour with love, honour and respect across my screen 🙂

2 thoughts on “Homage to the good men

  1. I’m so glad you were so moved by my post 🙂 The funny thing is that throughout my life I have experienced way too much at the hands of some really awful men (see my post “Why I Care”). However, through all of it there have always been really amazing, wonderful, good men who have nurtured me, taught me, set examples for me. It is because of them that I’ve always known there are great men in our society. It is because of them that I am able to trust. They are out there. They are probably closer than you realize. My daddy is one of the good guys. I’m married to one of them (20 years in April). My grandfather was one of them. There are a couple others I know for a variety of reasons. The thing is, though, that they aren’t the only ones I know. I’m sure I know lots more, these are just the men I feel most comfortable with. Keep looking… not just with your eyes, but with your heart. You just never know…

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and, again, I’m glad to know my words touched you the way they did.

    1. Yes Miss Edee, you touched my heart in a big way with your story, it is because of women like you sharing your stories of good men that my heart is open and filled with inspiration and trust. Many blessings to you and these good men. Any day now 🙂

Leave a Reply

